top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRadek Kriegler

San Diego

Updated: Feb 2, 2019

Ride No. 5 – 10

At the end of the month of January I decided to take one week off for motorcycle riding and visited more places in South California. And I have to admit – California is the most beautifull state of of all US states I ever visited. Ocean beach cities, high mountains with curvy roads, old trees parks, desert, snow areas, cities with historical buildings and happy nightlife, all can be found here.

On Monday morning I took the highway 210 which is nice Foothill ride and after passing San Bernandino I went down by 15 towards San Diego. I avoided morning traffic in L.A. and was also allowed to explore some lakes and cities along the highway. I was not in a hurry, made some phone calls to my kids in Europe so when I got to San Diego it was already afternoon.


I visited the downtown Gaslamp quarter:

Though the Gaslamp Quarter Association was officially chartered in 1982 by the City of San Diego under State Law, the Gaslamp Quarter’s Merchant Association goes back several decades and the historic commercial district that would become the Gaslamp Quarter began as William Heath Davis’ New Town in 1850. The Gaslamp Quarter’s colorful history, combined with its modern-day, world-class boutiques, galleries, and restaurants, is what makes this urban district unlike any other.

The Gaslamp Quarter has successfully transformed into a premier shopping, dining, and entertainment neighborhood. With over 200 restaurants, bars, nightclubs and lounges, boutiques, art galleries, and shops to peruse, the Gaslamp Quarter has established itself both as the playground of hip, eclectic San Diegans and as an elite urban destination. https://www.gaslamp.org/events/


I went also to Little Italy, Airport, I turned by mistake to Navy entrance so made U turn there. Sergant wanted me to show my papers but after looking at my licence plate he was tought by senior sergant that this is highly respected plate (motorcycle belongs to Harley Davidson Glendale owner Oliver Shokouh) and I was allowed to continue exploring San Diego. I enjoyed exploring city a lot but had an issue with accommodation.


I made reservation of one of those AIRBNB cheap places with Agatha and was looking to meet nice girl there but it turned out to be LGBT community and place was run by guy who presented himself as girl in application. He was not at home and wrote to me I cant stay anyway because I am bigotry. I do not mind their way of life but I do not like if someone cheats on heterosexual man like me. I might be shy to approach girls and ask them for going out (was married many years, divorced now) but definitely not LGBT. So ended up riding back home for four hours at night and got back at 3 a.m.. Big smile at me here :D :D .




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page