top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRadek Kriegler

Riding conditions in greater L.A.

When riding back I took a fast ride with fellow bikers from Neptune´s net. Did not know the group but I liked their Harleys so just joined them for few miles on the road. And once again this was fast ride. Cars were sometimes in the way but we passed them quickly even at the intersections and were in Santa Monica downtown within few minutes. There were two ladies riding with them, one of them had a bike Gigi2. I enjoyed this ride a lot.



I have to mention here the rules for such fast riding. You never cross the line of the road on left or right side but you are allowed to drive in between cars. Which we did when we needed to pass the cars. Of course you have to slow down when you know where the police has cars but it is done by cars as well so we knew something was going on.


Another thing is to ride fast motorcycle when you get into the traffic. Which happened to me on my way from Santa Monica to Tujunga. You have five rows of cars and all of them just stopped. You can wait with them two hours or do the same thing like other bikers. I had the advantage the police motorcycle passed me so I could follow him with other guys. And this is quite a dangerous adventure. Many people got killed on such ocasions because L.A. Drivers are used to high speeds in heavy traffic. Sometimes there is the whole in the highway as well which is unpleasant for motorcycle rider, and you can see tracks from trucks breaks long as one hundred meters on the road. So were riding between cars and we had to be on alert to stop if some driver would change the lane. I made it back by 118 and 210 and started to adjust to L.A. Driving conditions.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page