top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRadek Kriegler

Getting on the road

Updated: Feb 19, 2019

On January 28th I started to explore Los Angeles by motorcycle. I was allowed to use V ROD 2002 with huge power of Porsche developed engine thanks to the generousity of Oliver Shokouh. Bike insurance was provided by C Diamond company and costs about 370 USD per 3 months. Bike comes from Oliver´s private collection and it is listed under vintage bikes as well. https://www.glendaleharley.com/check-out-our--vintage-studio-bike-rentals . The dealership is famous for its cooperation with many movie stars in past as well. Actor names like Lorenzo Lamas, Robert Patrick, Jay Leno, Machette actor Denny Trejo and many others bought their motorcycles here and supported Love Ride Foundation as well. Ride 1

I just followed the sun on Sunday afternoon which took me to Victory Blvd and all the way to Topanga route in Santa Monica Mountains. Great curves when Mullholand drive passed and a lot of fun to ride such fast motorcycle and was happy that I am in the saddle of the motorcycle again. I enjoyed the view and found some mud roads as well. Topanga Canyon Loop is a 10.5 mile lightly trafficked loop trail with elevation 1.620 feet located near Santa Monica, California that features a waterfall and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. https://www.alltrails.com/trail/us/california/topanga-canyon-loop . Ride back was by freeways 101, 405, 118, 210 and it was guite cold at night, I still have to get some gloves to protect my hands and some extra trouses and knee pads. Oliver´s son Richard was kind to allow me to use his leather jacket so it was nice. Ride No 2 I joined the team of HOG GOLDEN state chapter and went for the celebration of life for Mary. On Sunday we had a breakfast at Elk lodge in Burbank, people were friendly and welcomed me at their meeting so I shared a bit of my motorcycle background. We took off around 11 for Tujunga Canyon road and back by Angeles Crest Highway Number 2. Wonderfull views over the mountains, L.A. and ocean. Riding with the crew of 10 people was comfortable, sidecar was holding tight with solo bikers. Hill street cafe http://hillstreetcafelacanada.com/ just at the end of mountain road on the intersection with 210 has plenty bikers spots for parking, staff there is friendly and pricing reasonable. We had a good lunch there and went back home from the ride. The oldest member was about 75 and the youngest was me I guess. But Harleys gave us all a lot of power to use so ride was quite fast. Riders welcomed me and wished me to join their chapter which I did. Director of Golden state chapter is Paul Phillips. http://goldenstatehog.com/ Ride No 3 I found my way to Angeles Crest Highway No 2 via 210 towards Pasadena and started to ride towards mountains. Curve followed the curve and it was very pleasant ride in beautiful nature. I took the route to Mt. Willson and found the great view on the top of this route. Many families were there as well, sunshine weather after one week of rains invited many people out.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page